Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Lightbulb Norovirus Facts (warning: might trigger!)

As I've mentioned on here before, I'm a nurse. I got most of this info straight from my hospital's infectious disease department, mixed in with a little of my own medical-evidence-based research.

I will say: THIS MIGHT NOT BE SOMETHING YOU WANT TO READ! After I learned this info, I was at first upset that I knew it because it caused me even more anxiety. Noro is a tricky little virus. But, in the end, I'm glad to know it because 1) knowledge is helpful in knowing what's realistic and what's not and 2) hopefully I can use this info to prevent getting noro.

I wanted to share these little tips I've gathered in hopes that it'll help you feel more realistic and prepared about noro, too.

SO, read at your own risk, know that I am not any sort of medically-binding or legally-binding source, just someone with a slight obsession with and way too much knowledge on infection control....and know that it might also make you feel a little more creeped out by noro....

1) Norovirus is not killed by hand sanitizer.
    Hand washing with soap and water is the most effective way to get rid of it - use warm water, any kind of soap (doesn't have to be antibacterial), wash for ~15 seconds, dry with a clean towel or paper towel. The runner-up way to get rid of it is hand sanitizer wipes (not the gel), and make sure you wipe well. The friction in scrubbing your hands together or wiping your hands off thoroughly is what helps get a lot of the bugs off of your hands.

2) Norovirus is NOT "the flu".