Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Just want to be "normal"

I am so tired of being a freak I just want to be normal! Why is it so hard? I want to live like I don't have this phobia and enjoy life but I don't know how to. Whenever I try it's an exhaustive trouble and though I try to enjoy it and pretend like I do, secretly I don't want to ever again. Like when my boyfriend and I went away for a couples night with his brother and his wife On New Years Eve. We had fun and I did really well, but I had to fight back major anxiety for at least half the time we were there. We spent the night only an hour away from home and I laid in bed that night terrified Id be sick and have to ride home feeling miserable in front of those people. I had fun socializing but by the time I got home I was so tired and exhausted I didn't want to move! I'm an intern at the hospital and every day I fight off anxiety and every day I come home and nap because I'm so tired from clenching my muscles during committee meetings and holding my breath and shaking inside all day.

I'm so tired I feel like I don't want to try new things because it's so much anxiety to work through and sometimes I'll work through it over and over every day but still have it! I'm better and more functional than I used to be, but it's just every day exhaustion.

Do you ever get that n* throat feeling but like there's mucous in the back of your throat you can't swallow down or bring up?
    Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. -Isaiah 41:10

Default Re: Just want to be "normal"