Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Ibuprofen on an empty stomach?

Hi everyone,

Bit of a panic post. Period cramps came on so I took 2 ibuprofen (400mg total). Suddenly realised I haven't eaten since this morning which was one slice of toast 8 hours ago!!!

I'm trying to eat a banana now, but I'm worrying like mad. When is a stomach truly empty? And will I be okay? I'm worried it'll irritated my stomach and make me sick!

Default Re: Ibuprofen on an empty stomach?

I've never had an issue with ibuprofen causing me stomach issues when taken without food. Bananas are supposed to be good for periods, so good choice. Feel better soon
    "And though she be but little, she is fierce"~Helena, A Midsummer Night's Dream

I guess my anxiety is making me feel worse. I never take drugs (because of the fear) so I'm a complete newbie and didn't think when I took them. I just feel awful so worried!

It's not going to make you v, might give you a little of that "gnawing" feeling though. Eat something!

I always get nervous too about taking Advil on an empty stomach, so I usually have a few bites of food. But occasionally I've had to take it on an empty stomach and I've been fine. A little bit of heartburn at most (then I take Tums). I hate taking pills too, so I know what you're saying. But my cramps get so bad, if I didn't take Advil I'd be unable to function. My husband, who has no qualms about taking pills, often takes 2 Advils for headaches on an empty stomach and doesn't even think twice. You'll be fine.