Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

I have been a social smoker on and off since high school. In college I would smoke when we went out to the bars (pretty much every weekend) and sometimes I would just smoke off the balcony with my roommate because we enjoyed it!

Once I graduated, my anxiety got VERY bad and I felt too sick all the time and basically quit drinking smoking and eating for a little more thanthree years.

All the sudden in the last month or so, my desire to smoke has come back with a VENGEANCE and I am so scared I might be getting addicted! I know it is a HORRIBLE habit and I never want to feel like i can't control my wanting for one.

One of my friends just moved back to town a couple months ago so we all went out to this bar and it was like old times, everyone was smoking (everyone pretty much quit after college) so of course I did too. Felt like crap the next day and thought ok, that is out of my system. But then, a week or so ago, i was home sick, and i guess I was bored and feeling rebellious (cuttin'work and hubby not around, LOL) and all i could think about was smoking. I went to the gas station and boughta pack of cigs and the adrenaline was going crazy, I broke the speed limit so I could get home and smoke!! I smoked like 6 of them that day and finished the pack in a week. Vowed no more after that, but I had a party Sat night and smoked again, and now I want to some more!!!

Long story, but my question is, how easy is it for you to be addicted, or do you consider yourself addicted? In the past I could always just stop doing it and not look back, but all the sudden I'mn craving it. maybe cause it's cold outside (always makes me want to smoke) and hubby is gone a lot and I'm bored...not really sure, but I'm getting worried because i am normally a very health conscious person.

Hey mjewell--