Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Food Poisoning Worries

After about an hour of research, I'm turning to you all. I need a more personalized answer to my worries.

I am a college student and therefore do not like to waste food. I had 2 pieces of deli turkey meat in my fridge today and figured I'd finish it. However, I bought this turkey on the 11th, meaning that it is now 11 days old. I was aware of this when I took the turkey out. I felt it to check for slime--it was a bit slimy but no slimier than any other piece of turkey I've consumed in the past. I smelled it and it smelled fine. I heated it for a brief time in a panini press. I ate the sandwich and thought it tasted a tad tangy but also thought that maybe I was imagining it. The sandwich also had cheddar cheese so the tang could have been from that. Overall, the sandwich tasted normal.

I really don't know why I ate it, knowing that I would freak out about it shortly after. The "Sell by" date on the bag is the 15th, presumably meaning the turkey could've been sold on the 15th and my eating it would only make it 6 days old--unless that date is reserved for unopened turkey. However, it came in a ziplock and it's been stored in that same ziplock since the day I bought it. It's also, obviously, been in the fridge.

I'm just waiting for my stomach to turn. I am so angry at myself for eating it, especially since I have class tonight and I will be on edge for the rest of the day. So questions for you all: Was eating the turkey a dumb idea? Do any of you eat cold cuts beyond the recommended 3-4 days? This turkey isn't processed but there is a high amount of sodium, hopefully meaning there are a lot of preservatives? Ugh. Please help me. I don't know what to expect now.

I also should mention that I feel like I HAVE eaten old turkey in the past and was fine. But that's not a definite.