Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

I'm fairly new to emetophobia and have started treatment already (hypnosis) [img]smileys/smilies_13.gif[/img] .

Ever since I started treatment i have had a feeling that I dont actually want to be cured because it will mean that I will stop my obsessive hygiene habits and get sick and v*. I am scared that if this does happen it will turn out that i am actually still scared of v*ing or that i will be trapped in a public situation or with friends.

Does anyone else feel this way? Am i just thinking about this way too much? [img]smileys/smilies_06.gif[/img]
    (billy)

I don't think that you're thinking about too much; I think it's the emet talking. [img]smileys/smilies_01.gif[/img]

Good luck with your treatment! It's nice to meet another complete noob here.

It is possible to sabotage your own treatment by that type of thinking- it seems to me that while you appear to want to get over this, and are seeking treatment- part of you is holding you back. Preventing you from fully embracing your desire to 'cure' your emetophobia because then you think it may lead to getting sick. Kind of a vicious circle, isnt it?

Hopefully hypnosis will work for you- if it does, it wont matter if you DO get sick because you will no longer fear it.

I know that when I am worrying about being sick in public, I always think "well, whats the absolute WORST thing that can happen".You may gross a few people out- and be a bit embarrassed. It has unfortunately happened to me a few times because of motionsickness- andI was surprised because complete strangers came up to me and asked if I was okay- one lady even gave me a tissue.

I hope your treatment goes well

*amber*

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.