Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hybrid View

Default I'm at my wit's end

Hi everyone, I know I'm new here and this is probably the worst first impression ever but here goes.

I'm new to being emet and it started about a month (maybe two) ago when my sister and I got zinc poisoning. She v and d but I only felt extreme n. Since then it's like a switch went off in my head and it's all I think about. I've slowly stopped eating all together in fear I'll v, I've lived off crackers for a week and sometimes can coax myself into eating something more, I can't even eat homemade things in fear the ingredients are bad or I'll v (and I love eating! Especially my mom's spaghetti.)

My sleep is suffering because I'm afraid I'll wake up in the middle of the night and v. I'm terrified of being alone for extended time. I can't imagine living my life like this any longer and I obviously don't want to.

Ironically, can you believe I've only v once (multiple times) in my whole life when I was 6? It was traumatizing and probably what started this and the zinc incident just triggered it. My family doesn't know what to do and are slowly starting becoming annoyed with me, which is making my anxiety worse.

Now with the news about Norovirus I've become hyper aware of any sign of illness, I wash my hands excessively and use hand sanitizer like it's going out of style, and now I'm anxious I have a bug because I had to go to the hospital for an ultrasound (gallbladder) despite washing my hands twice.

I'm also worried about dehydration (drinking water as we speak) and just becoming ill from lack of nutrition. I just feel very scared, helpless, and hopeless (and hungry.)

Default Re: I'm at my wit's end

Hello, LMW, and welcome. We all know how you feel. We've all been through it ourselves. Many of us haven't vomited since we were children, and most of us want it to stay that way.