Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

If this has been done before, forgive me-I'm a newbie
    [img]smileys/smilies_13.gif[/img]

How supportive is your partner about your emet?

I'm lucky to have a wonderful husband who will listen to me, distract me during anxiety attacks, and stay up with me until my "safety hour" (2am) on those particularly bad days. He never heard of emetophobia before we started dating, but now reads everything he can find on it, as well as info on foodborne illness and medical facts about SV so that he can be helpful to me when my own rationale fails me.

However, I've known emets whose partners were both non-sympathetic and even rather MEAN about things. [img]smileys/smilies_15.gif[/img]
    I can't imagine.

Hi katke -

My fiance (soon-to-be husband on July 8th!!!) is very supportive. Actually, we just had a conversation tonight about it as I've been having quite a few panic attacks due to people at work (long story). He has always known that I've had an issue with germs, but I confirmed to him last week what it really "is" I'm scared of. He completely understood and says that he hates it as well. Hehe, he is an engineer, so he tries to explain it to me like my body is a machine (which it pretty much is) and if something is wrong, it needs to rid itself of the problem or something along those lines. Anyways, I'm glad that you have a supportive husband as well!! I know that my feelings would be very hurt if he just completely refused to understand me.

My hubby is very understanding.

It took me a long time to tell him about it, however altho weve been together 11yrs, I only found out this thing had a name about 18mths ago.

I talked to him abotu 15mths ago after a particularly bad episode involving major dental treatment (I panicked) and numerous people off work sick. He said it knida made sense of other episodes since wed been together abd hes been really good.