Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Thread: severe emet..

Sorry this is so long but its important to me.. please read

Ok well to start off I would just like to say that I've been an emet for my whole life, or at least back until i can remember. I went through elementary school eating lunch in a room by myself and skipping recess to help teachers grade papers so that i could avoid as many germs as possible. I went through high school with a little more ease but i still took precautions to try to avoid getting sick.

I gave birth to a gorgeous little girl a little over a year after i graduated. My emet seemed somewhat under control until she got a stomach virus last january of 05. she v* every 5 minutes for almost 5 hours until we finally took her to the hospital and then it started to taper off a little. her sv lasted for a little less than 24 hours but ever since then my emet has kicked into high gear.

I can not even go on living a normal everyday life because i'm afraid of everything. My daughter is being held back from so many different things because i'm afraidof her being exposed to a virus. I don't have a job because i'm afraid to send her to daycare, i don't take her to play with other kids because i'm afraid they're all contaminated with some type of illness. I wash her hands after every little thing she touches andif i have to take her to the doctors she gets a fullscrub-downafterwards.

Everyday I wake up in fear that i am going to have some type of sv. I rarely eat anything besides bread and crackers because i try to keep my stomach as acid free as possible. I only drinkwater or ginger ale because i'm afraid anything else will upset me. I constantly havesome type of stomach problem such a n*, d*, cramps, acid reflux, or gas. I never feel normal.