Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Hi, I'm a newbie and although I have commented on a few other threads this is my first 'proper' post. Hello! I want to ask about a stomach problem I once had because altho (touch wood) it's gone. I'm still trying to get to the bottom of what the heck it was... You all seem so friendly and supportive, so here goes... oh, and FYI nothing graphic follows!

A few years ago I came down with what seemed a 'regular' stomach bug - nausea, bloating, no appetite, stomach cramps, bouts of (can I spell it?) diarrhoea, feeling a bit fluey. So far, so ordinary. The problem was that it WOULD NOT GO AWAY! Every time I would start to feel better, back it would come again. This went on for at least TWO YEARS!!!

When it started, I lost 14 pounds in 3 weeks - and I usually I find it incredibly hard to lose weight. I was living on cornflakes and ginger nuts (cookies) which was all I could stomach. Then it easedoff and I was getting attacks every week, then every month, tho not feeling truly well in between... but the worst problemwas that I would nearly always suffer from it when I went out, or went on hol with my boyfriend. The misery of feeling sick when you're away from home - urgh, right? It never actually made me v* but I feltclose several times... When I had an attack, I also felt exteremely anxious, depressed and disoriented.

The number of times my boyfriend cooked a wonderful meal that I just couldn't physically eat... I would just cry and cry. I started to lose all my confidence and didn't want to go anywhere.