Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default Has anyone else's Emet morphed into a worse phobia?

Hey Guys,

Haven't posted in a looooong time. For a while I just was kind of dealing with my Emetophobia but lately its been kinda bad. No one has gotten sick but I don't trust my roommates (they poop and don't wash their hands sometimes, or just use hand sanitizer...). And with the Flu season up and running, I'm getting worse.

It used to be I had no phobias about catching colds or the flu, it was just a fear of the norovirus. Well, I'm noticing that now I have almost the same fear/reaction to someone who has a cold or the flu (by the way, everyone thinks that the stomach bug and the flu are the same, drives me nuts). I'm a college student, and I'm getting to the point where I go crazy just sitting in class and I don't want to sit by anyone because I don't know if they've been sick or are sick or if they've washed their hands, etc. Its starting to get in the way of daily life, and I'm starting to worry about it a little bit. I find myself praying desperately every night that no one in my apartment will get sick because I have no where else to turn.

So, a few questions for y'all:

Has your Emet morphed into a fear of illness in general?

Also, not Emet related, but is the Flu vaccine any good this year? I've heard it hasn't been super effective this year and I'm wondering if I should go get one. I know its later in the season but I've read its still not too late.

One last question regarding treatment of Emet: Are there any pills you can take on a daily basis that will just "shut off" the center of your brain that causes the hideous act we have a phobia of? Or if I were to go to a doctor, could they prescribe anti-emetics (I mean more than pepto...I'm talking, like, nothing is EVER coming up anti-emetics) that I could take when I felt like I was in a situation involving said bodily function?