Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default I'm new to this. I need help.

Hi Emetophobia.org. My name is Rudi and I have suffered from Emetophobia for as long as I can remember. I don't know if there was one single event that caused my irrational fear, all I remember is that it's been a burden of mine for my entire life. There have been many V related incidences in my life, mostly due to other people and not myself. These thoughts almost never leave my mind and I cannot go one single day without reluctantly and unwillingly reminiscing about them. During my mid-teenage years (14 - 17) my Emetophobia got a lot better, the anxiety and OCD side of it anyway, but the fear never left. Regardless of the fact I was a lot less anxious about public places and going out with friends, if an event were to occur that caused me to believe I was in danger of V, I would have full blown panic attacks and would be extremely anxious for days.

I recently turned 18, and for some reason my Emetophobia seems to of taken a turn for the worse. Over the past few months my anxiety has been building up, and over the past few weeks it has become extreme. At this moment in time I feel as if this phobia has taken over my life. I used to be a regular party-go-er and social person. All that has changed recently, I have stopped going out, I am going to school less and less, and in the past week it has been so bad I have barely even left my room. I am constantly washing my hands, checking my symptoms, checking food and avoiding contact with anyone (including family). It has gotten so bad my Mum, who is just about the only person in my life who knows about this, has advised me to start therapy. I am now having CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy), I have only had 3 sessions and I am sceptical that it's going to work.