Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

Default How did it all start for you?

Hi guys and gals,

As a newbie, i just wanted to hear your side of the story. I'm hoping that this might help me to accept that I have a phobia and find ways to get on my life rather than have it revolve around one small bit.

So... how did it all start for you? How do you cope?

For me, it became very prominant last year and was diagnosed by my doctor. Since then I am seeing a councillor and she's bringing up all lots of things that i have been ignoring for years. After a really poniente session, i felt ready to try to move on... but then the school stomach bug has started up today, and the frustration of poorly students being forced back into lessons. I want to be able to be strong with this and not have a very big urge to wash my hands repeatedly. Its really hard, as we had this stomach bug last term and i was really hoping it was just colds and flu season. I didnt cope well last term, but i really want to this term.

I was hoping to find some support and advice from people who fully understand of what I am going through.

Thanks

C

Default Re: How did it all start for you?

Hi! First off, welcome to the forum. Feel free to ask/post whenever you feel like it. Misery loves company right? : )
    School bugs are never easy. Probably the worst part is not being able to control others actions when they get s*. Just wash your hands regularily (but not obsessively!) and stay away from contaminated places and I'm sure you'll be fine.

As far a I know I've had this phobia all my life, so 21 years. I know that there are emetophobics that go nearly their whole life with out v*ing, but I haven't been that lucky unfortunately.
    Even as I tiny kid I was afraid of v*ing, but it probably got even worse when I was about 6 and had the most horrible Noro experience in my life.