Welcome to the International Emetophobia Society | The Web's Largest Meeting Place for People With Emetophobia.

This is my first time on here and i just recently learnt of this horrific phobia. It dictates my life in everyway and I am constantly thinking of V. While i am freaked about myself v*ing, it is more so by the 10 fold of others v*ing. it has peaked this year (I am 17) and now for April vacation I am going to see my sister in Illinois and i am scared out of my mind. I am so afraid of someone throwing up near me or even just on the plane. this trip is two weeks away and I have no idea what i should do. My mum might get Paxil for me but still, what if it doesn;t work? Oh my god please help, I cry as I just think about it.

You will be okay. I have flown many times without having to deal with such things. Get some headphones, a good book and some dramamine. (that stuff knocks me out... i love taking it when i fly!)

Have a great time with your sister! How long of a flight do ya have?
    \"This too shall pass\"

beansidhe07,

First of all welcome!

Let me just begin by saying, I know exactly how you feel! I worry about other people being sick near me and being trapped too. I flew to Europe from Toronto, Canada last July (about 8 hours) and I was a basketcase. And for what? Nothing at all! Everything was fine. No one was sick at all! I did a great job and you can too. Here is some advice my therapist gave me to help me:

1. I am safe, I am not in any danger. Vomit can't hurt me, it's only gross.

2.Chances are slim to none anyone will be sick on this flight.

3. Everyone on the plane knows if they are ill and will go to the bathroom if necessary. No one is in an out of control state.

4. I am not trapped, if I am uncomfortable I can talk to the flight attendants about moving my seat.

5. Checking and monitoring the people around me only serves to increase my anxiety and doesn't change the situation.